Important Dates

 

2019-2020 Residential Life & Housing Calendar Summary

 

  On-Campus Housing Contract Dates Check-In Period Instruction Begins^ Last Day of Instruction^ Final Exam Days^ Check-Out Day
Spring 2019 Semester April 24* – July 1, 2019 April 24 - 30, 2019 May 1, 2019 June 25, 2019 June 26-28, 2019 July 1, 2019
Summer Break 2019 July 1 – August 23, 2019          
Fall 2019 Semester August 23 – December 14, 2019 August 23 - September 3, 2019 September 4, 2019 December 5, 2019 December 9-12, 2019 December 14, 2019
Winter Break 2019 December 14, 2019 – January 2, 2020          
Winter 2020 Semester January 2 – April 20, 2020 January 2 – 7, 2020 January 8, 2020 April 10, 2020 April 14-17, 2020 April 20, 2020
Spring 2020 Semester April 22* – June 29, 2020 April 22 – 28, 2020 April 29, 2020 June 23, 2020 June 24-26, 2020 June 29, 2020

*Winter to Spring Residents are permitted to stay on-campus the days between contracts. Students transferring to a new room are required to be here for those days.

**Students who have a different booking for the following semester are required to be here on Transfer Day.

^Academic Dates are subject to change by the University. Please visit the University’s Academic Calendar for updates:https://academics.byuh.edu/academicdates

Holidays

There is no school for the following dates.

Spring 2019 Semester May 27, 2019 – Memorial Day
Fall 2019 Semester

September 2, 2019 – Labor Day

November 28-29, 2019 - Thanksgiving

Winter 2020 Semester

January 20, 2020 – Martin Luther King Day

February 17, 2020 – President’s Day

March 26, 2020 – Prince Kuhio Day

Spring 2020 Semester May 25, 2020 – Memorial Day

 


The Residential Life office has multiple events happening at the same time for different types of students This page has a list of dates based on the semester. If you are unsure of what dates you need to know, we recommend that you view the dates by Student Type from the Residential Life homepage.

View by Student Type(Links)

View by Semester (This Page)

New Students – Single First Year Students

New Students – Single Transfer & Returning Students

Married/Single Parent Students

Current Students – Hales

Single students living off-campus who want to live on-campus

Current Residents – TVA

Off-Campus Housing

Fall 2019 Residential Life & Housing Important Dates and Deadlines

Winter 2020 Residential Life & Housing Important Dates and Deadlines

Spring 2020 Residential Life & Housing Important Dates and Deadlines

Office Holidays

 


Fall 2019 Residential Life & Housing Important Dates and Deadlines

Friday, March 1, 2019 @ 9AM HST - Monday, July 1, 2019 @ 3PM HST Hales New Freshmen Reserve a Room Online
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 @ 12AM HST - Friday, May 31, 2019 @ 11:59PM HST TVA Renew Contract Month
Wednesday, May 1, 2019 - Friday, May 31, 2019 Cancel your TVA contract for only $25 processing fee
Monday, May 13, 2019 @ 12AM HST - Friday, May 17, 2019 @ 3PM HST Hales Renew Contract (Freshmen/FY Students, Sponsored Students)
Monday, May 20, 2019 @ 12AM HST - Friday, May 24, 2019 @ 3PM HST Hales Change Room (Freshmen/FY Students, Sponsored Students)
Monday, May 27, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room Opens: Current Resident Freshmen/FY Students, Sponsored Students
Friday, May 31, 2019 @ 11:59PM HST TVA Transfer Application Deadline
Saturday, June 1, 2019 Cancel your TVA contract: IF YOUR CONTRACT IS REPLACED $400 Replacement Fee + $25 processing fee
Saturday, June 1, 2019 @ 11:59PM HST TVA Waitlist Application Deadline
Monday, June 3, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room opens: Less Than 30 Credits (Summer & Fall)
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room opens: Less Than 55 Credits (Summer & Fall)
Wednesday, June 5, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room opens: Less Than 80 Credits (Summer & Fall)
Thursday, June 6, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room opens for all Students (Summer & Fall)
Monday, June 10, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room opens: Less Than 30 Credits (Fall Only)
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room opens: Less Than 55 Credits (Fall Only)
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room opens: Less Than 80 Credits (Fall Only)
Thursday, June 13, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room opens for all Students (Fall Only)
Friday, March 1, 2019 - Sunday, June 30, 2019 Cancel your Hale contract for only $25 processing fee
Monday, July 1, 2019 @ 3PM HST Hales Freshmen Reserve a Room Deadline
Monday, July 1, 2019 Cancel your Hale contract: IF YOUR CONTRACT IS REPLACED $250 Replacement Fee + $25 processing fee 
Monday, July 1, 2019Wednesday, July 3, 2019 Hales Transfer Period – For Spring Students who booked a new room for Summer and Fall
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 @ 12PM HST - Friday, July 5, 2019 @ 12PM HST TVA Transfer Period 1 – Based on availability, transfers occur throughout the summer
Thursday, August 1, 2019 Hales Freshmen Room Assignments are sent
Thursday, August 1, 2019 @ 12PM HST - Tuesday, August 6, 2019 @ 12PM HST TVA Transfer Period 2 – Based on availability, transfers occur throughout the summer
Thursday, August 15, 2019 Charges available to pay on your myBYUH Student Account
Friday, August 23, 2019 - Tuesday, September 4, 2019 Hales Check In: Everyday 9AM-6PM, except Sundays and Holidays
Friday, August 23, 2019 - Tuesday, September 4, 2019 TVA Check In: Everyday 5PM-7PM, except Sundays and Holidays
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 First Day of School
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 Rent Charges Due
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 Off-Campus Contracts Due
Saturday, December 14, 2019 Hales and TVA Check-out Day

Return to Top

 


Winter 2020 Residential Life & Housing Important Dates and Deadlines

Thursday, August 1, 2019 @ 9AM HST - Friday, November 1, 2019 @ 3PM HST Hales New Freshmen Reserve a Room
Thursday, August 1, 2019 - Thursday, October 31, 2019 Cancel your Hale contract for only $25 processing fee
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 @ 12AM HST - Monday, September 30, 2019 @ 11:59PM HST TVA Renew Contract Month
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 - Monday, September 30, 2019 Cancel your TVA contract for only $25 processing fee
Monday, September 30, 2019 @ 11:59PM HST TVA Transfer Application Deadline
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 Cancel your TVA contract: IF YOUR CONTRACT IS REPLACED $400 Replacement Fee + $25 processing fee
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 @ 11:59PM HST TVA Waitlist Application Deadline
Monday, October 7, 2019 @ 12AM HST - Friday, October 11, 2019 @ 3PM HST Hales Renew Contract
Monday, October 14, 2019 @ 12AM HST - Friday, October 18, 2019 @ 3PM HST Hales Change Room
Monday, October 28, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room Opens: Current Resident Freshmen/FY Students
Monday, October 28, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room Opens: Less Than 30 Credits
Tuesday, October 29, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room Opens: Less Than 55 Credits
Wednesday, October 30, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room Opens: Less Than 80 Credits
Thursday, October 31, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room Opens for all Students
Friday, November 1, 2019 @ 3PM HST Hales Freshmen Reserve a Room Deadline
Friday, November 1, 2019 Cancel your Hale contract: IF YOUR CONTRACT IS REPLACED $250 Replacement Fee + $25 processing fee
Friday, November 15, 2019 Hales Freshmen Building Assignments
Tuesday, November 26, 2019 Hales Freshmen Room Assignments
Friday, December 13, 2019 Charges available to pay on your myBYUH Student Account
Saturday, December 14, 2019 - Tuesday, January 1, 2020 Winter Break
Monday, December 16, 2019 Hales Transfer Day – For Fall Students who booked a new room for Winter
Thursday, December 19, 2019 @ 12PM HST - Monday, December 23, 2019 @ 12PM HST TVA Transfer Period – Based on availability, limited
Wednesday, January 2, 2020 - Tuesday, January 7, 2020 Hales Check In: Everyday 9AM-6PM, except Sundays and Holidays
Wednesday, January 2, 2020 - Tuesday, January 7, 2020 TVA Check In: Everyday 5PM-7PM, except Sundays and Holidays
Wednesday, January 8, 2020 First Day of School
Wednesday, January 22, 2020 Charges Due
Wednesday, January 22, 2020 Off-Campus Contracts Due
Monday, April 20, 2020 Hales and TVA Check-out Day

Return to Top

 


Spring 2020 Residential Life & Housing Important Dates and Deadlines

Sunday, December 1, 2019 @ 9AM HST - Sunday, March 1, 2020 @ 3PM HST Hales New Freshmen Reserve a Room
Sunday, December 1, 2019 - Saturday, February 29, 2020 Cancel your Hale contract for only $25 processing fee
Wednesday, January 8, 2020 @ 12AM HST - Friday, January 31, 2020 @ 11:59PM HST TVA Renew Contract Month
Wednesday, January 8, 2020 - Friday, January 31, 2020 Cancel your TVA contract for only $25 processing fee
Friday, January 31, 2020 @ 11:59PM HST TVA Transfer Application Deadline
Saturday, February 1, 2020 Cancel your TVA contract: IF YOUR CONTRACT IS REPLACED $400 Replacement Fee + $25 processing fee
Saturday, February 1, 2020 @ 11:59PM HST TVA Waitlist Application Deadline
Monday, February 3, 2020 @ 12AM HST - Friday, February 7, 2020 @ 3PM HST Hales Renew Contract
Monday, February 10, 2020 @ 12AM HST - Friday, February 14, 2020 @ 3PM HST Hales Change Room
Monday, February 24, 2020 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room Opens: Current Resident Freshmen/FY Students
Monday, February 24, 2019 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room Opens: Less Than 30 Credits
Tuesday, February 25, 2020 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room Opens: Less Than 55 Credits
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room Opens: Less Than 80 Credits
Thursday, February 27, 2020 @ 12AM HST Hales Book a Room Opens for all Students
Sunday, March 1, 2020 @ 3PM HST Hales Freshmen Reserve a Room Deadline
Sunday, March 1, 2020 Cancel your Hale contract: IF YOUR CONTRACT IS REPLACED $250 Replacement Fee + $25 processing fee
Monday, March 16, 2020 Hales Freshmen Building Assignments
Wednesday, April 1, 2020 Hales Freshmen Room Assignments
Friday, April 10, 2020 Charges available to pay on your myBYUH Student Account
Monday, April 20, 2020 - Wednesday, April 22, 2020 Spring Break – Continuing Winter to Spring Residents can stay in their room
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 Hales Transfer Day – For Winter Students who booked a new room for Spring
Wednesday, April 22, 2020 - Tuesday, April 28, 2020 Hales Check In: Everyday 9AM-6PM, except Sundays and Holidays
Wednesday, April 22, 2020 - Tuesday, April 28, 2020 TVA Check In: Everyday 5PM-7PM, except Sundays and Holidays
Wednesday, April 29, 2020 First Day of School
Wednesday, May 13, 2020 Charges Due
Wednesday, May 13, 2020 Off-Campus Contracts Due
Monday, June 29, 2020 Hales and TVA Check-out Day

Return to Top